sharinglobi.blogg.se

Weatherproof splice box burry
Weatherproof splice box burry











  1. #WEATHERPROOF SPLICE BOX BURRY INSTALL#
  2. #WEATHERPROOF SPLICE BOX BURRY UPDATE#
  3. #WEATHERPROOF SPLICE BOX BURRY MANUAL#

That a a set of Lee Valley chisels that were an in-law gift and have never been used in 5 years! I have no zipsaw, but a Dremel should come close enough. I'd like to keep to the bulkhead style of light as that is what my soffit installations are as well. Now I need to find a low profile "pancake", weatherproof box to go under it. I think my set-up was not unusual in the day.

weatherproof splice box burry weatherproof splice box burry

Especially true with wall-mount fixtures, which, when I tour my neighbourhood, by far most outdoor lighting comes from a soffit location with its far greater accessibility. So wiring terminated in the bonnet of the light itself.

#WEATHERPROOF SPLICE BOX BURRY INSTALL#

I do not think in the 1950's junction boxes were necessarily required for external fixtures because siding was just lapped straight on and rough-in boxes faced externally were difficult to install as a result. That is why it was simply a 3-wire length sent right through the joists, but very difficult to retrofit simply due to location (and remodelling the garage is not usually a high priority work). My original wiring dates from the 1950's and has partially been replaced with a new kitchen, bathroom and basement, but this legacy wire dates from the original period, though I suspect its junction origin is from a later re-wiring.

#WEATHERPROOF SPLICE BOX BURRY UPDATE#

I am in Canada and I believe the major update to the National Building Code (electrical) adopted provincewide in my area happened in the mid 1970's.

#WEATHERPROOF SPLICE BOX BURRY MANUAL#

I suspect this lighting was put in originally in the 1960's, and then updated about 1982, when the garage door was converted from manual to motorized. I can find walkway lamps and retrofit recessed potlights with integrated boxes, but nothing for outdoors. I'd like to replace with a bulkhead light with an integral junction box, if such a thing exists. So that's the wire (and not too much of it) I have to work with, sans junction box. I cannot access the wire from the inside without complete disassembly of the garage door, ceiling, and some considerable cement, not to mention a natural gas pipe running nearby! Similar to this:ĭirectly behind the siding where the wire extends out is a joist, part of a double joist lintel over the garage. It had a single light bulb component in one side and room for wiring (in integrated junction box) in the other. The original light was a very old"bulkhead" or "nautical" style of weatherproof design. It would also be aesthetically not very pleasing to have a light perched on the external box, weatherproof or not.Īre there any exterior lights where the splice box is integrated into the light fixture itself? Certainly none where I can mount a flush box nor one where I can perch a fixture on a weatherproof outdoor junction box. I have no alternative mounting locations. Way back when the solution to an over-the garage light was to run a shielded wire through a 1/2" drilled hole in the lintel/cedar shingle. The fixture is attached directly to cedar shingles which are themselves attached to the lintel above the garage door. Of course that flushness comes from being located on a structural building component with no junction box behind it. It seems counter-intuitive to have a solution that is more exposed to the elements (and hockey balls) than something that looks to have been installed mid-1960's. It would be less weatherproof then the current (broken) arrangement.

weatherproof splice box burry

It will get soaked, constantly, whereas now, being flush it is semi-protected. If I put an external box not integrated into the light fixture itself, I will have so much protrusion the light fixture would extend well beyond the drip line of the wall above the lintel. I traced the circuit to a junction box in a wall outlet.Īny solutions? Are there still available external lighting with a built-in junction box? I went to a couple of Big Box stores here in Canada but could find no solutions. The light is part of a circuit that extends up the wall to the room above. There is a ground and it was fully accessible, as easy as 2 screws to change the lightbulb. Looking at the old light, it is the type that was a a junction box in itself. I am stuck with that wire coming out at that location and nowhere to put a junction box in, certainly not recessed. There is no non-structural support nearby, the rest being concrete. I need to replace that light and thought to put in a junction box per Code, but the shielded wire is passed through the supporting lintel, which is structural. It looks well done and has apparently been like that for decades, but the light case broke when a hockey ball hit it (kids!). The wire comes straight out of the wall (w/ground).

weatherproof splice box burry

I took off the light to find no junction box. It was an incandescent bulb system, pretty typical. An outdoor, marine-style light used over my garage driveway in a 50+ year house needs replacing.













Weatherproof splice box burry